top of page

Why Do We Like Disney's Remakes?


Elle

I’ve already done a little bit of ranting about why Disney’s live action remakes and sequels are problematic. But with the release of Dumbo, I thought it would be pertinent to revisit the topic.

These movies aren’t needed. They don’t serve any purpose other than saying, “Hey, you know this thing? We’re going to give you that exact thing again!” And then the execs at Disney sit back and watch the box office numbers bloat larger than a flying elephant.

So why do people go to see these movies? Why did we let Beauty and the Beast gross over ONE BILLION dollars worldwide (the only movie that grossed more in 2017 was Star Wars: The Last Jedi)? It certainly wasn’t because it was a film of the highest quality that challenged our expectations and preconceived notions of what cinema could be and caused unending discussion about its content and themes (yes, I’m talking about The Last Jedi and other amazing movies). No, it was because we recognized the title, the company, the music, and the actors.

Even The Jungle Book, which is considered by some to be the best of these live action remakes, has a better, more original, and more meaningful counterpart in Mowgli: Legend of the Jungle, which released on Netflix last year. These movies aren’t giving us anything new thematically or plot-wise. James Earl Jones was even cast as Mufasa in The Lion King remake! This is the exact same actor who played him in the original (and still iconic) movie 25 years ago! That closes the gap even further between the two versions of the movie, and that is a very bad thing.

An argument can be made that they are giving us a new version of the story visually, but when side by side trailers for The Lion King, Aladdin, and Beauty and the Beast all exist, we can even say that we aren’t getting anything new visually.

There is a difference between these remakes and the hybrid remake/sequels like Mary Poppins Returns, Christopher Robin, and Maleficent. Those are at least bringing something new to the table and not just recycling an old, beloved story. The Nutcracker and Alice in Wonderland even changed the tone and feel of the originals, which makes me want to give them a bit more of a pass. But the three that are coming out this year – along with the likes of The Jungle Book, Beauty and the Beast, and Cinderella – do not do that whatsoever.

So again, why are people flocking to these movies? This is a semi-rhetorical question because I just can’t figure out why anyone would be interested in doing this. Personally, I’m still on the fence about whether or not I will be going to see these movies. I can tell you that I don’t want to. I have no interest in seeing three movies where it is a guarantee that the original will be superior. But I also feel like I have a sort of obligation to see them. I see as many movies as I can each year, especially the big releases like these.

But in the end, I really can see myself staying home, or at the very least seeing something better or more original, when these come out. I see no valid reason for them to exist and therefore, I see no reason to give in and see something that is lesser than something great.

Make sure you check out the blog on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook! Updates and some shorter Robert's thoughts are posted there!

bottom of page