top of page

Recasting Legally Blonde


Petty Mayo

When @kay_roe from Instagram requested that I recast Legally Blonde, I have to admit I wasn’t too excited. I’d never seen it, but it didn’t seem like the kind of movie that I would be too interested in. But I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. This isn’t a great movie by any stretch, but it’s a movie that knows what it is. It sets out to be a decent chick flick that sends a good message about realizing your ability. And it succeeds at that quite well.

But the request was to recast Legally Blonde and not review it. So let’s get to the recasting!

GotCeleb

Elle: Chloë Grace Moretz – Up to this point, Moretz has mostly done roles that fit her age, as she is 21. She is about the age where she could be entering law school and seeing her character grow up and mature in the movie could be a good metaphor for her real life.

IMDb

Warner: Miles Teller – Warner seems a little bit older than Elle in the movie, which would make Teller good for the role. He’d do a good job of playing the arrogant and cocky guy who thinks he’s cut out for law school.

Wikipedia

Margot: Haley Lu Richardson – Best known for Split and Edge of Seventeen, Richardson could easily play the good looking, but very blonde co-best friend from L.A.

Disney Wikia

Serena: Emma Watson – Yes, this is a lot of star power for such a small role, but I think she’d do a great job here.

IMDb

David: Adam Devine – My mind immediately went to Devine as soon as this character came on screen. His more reigned in roles on Modern Family and Pitch Perfect make me think he’d be perfect to play this awkward and dorky guy.

IMDb

Professor Stromwell: Holly Hunter – Hunter has a commanding and slightly intimidating presence based off of The Big Sick alone. She’s a little younger than the original role, but she fits it just fine.

IMDb

Professor Callahan: John Slattery – He’s most recognizable from his role in the Marvel Universe, but it is a small role. He has the kindness needed for the part, but there could also be something a little bit sketchy with him.

Wikipedia

Vivian: Aubrey Plaza – Much like with Devine, as soon as this character came on screen, I thought of Aubrey Plaza. She can play the mean side of Vivian, but also has the ability to change.

Bio.com

Emmett: Alden Ehrenreich – Ehrenreich had his official breakout this summer in Solo, but it wasn’t widely enough seen to make him too big of a name. He can have the friendly presence that Emmett brings to Elle.

Wikipedia

Paulette: Amy Poehler – Poehler has the ability to play a few different comedic speeds. There would be the chance of her going a little bit too over the top with this role, but I trust her to reign it in.

IMDb

Brooke: Jennifer Lawrence – Brooke is one of the more serious characters in the movie, so I think that serious actress Jennifer Lawrence could bring her to life well.

IMDb

Chutney: Elizabeth Gillies – Best known for her role on Nickelodeon’s Victorious, she would easily bring the rude and “I don’t care” attitude that Chutney does at the trial. Just give her a perm and she'll be perfect.

IMDb

Judge: Octavia Spencer – Spencer is everywhere these days, so I think she would do well in this smaller role.

Let me know what you think of my recasting, or give me suggestions for other movies to recast for the next Fan Request Friday on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook!

bottom of page