top of page

2019 Preview


GameSpot

I thought 2018 was a good year for film overall. There are a number of movies that I think have a decent shot of winning best picture at the Oscars. Add in some good blockbusters and comedies and it was a solid year. But I don’t think 2019 will yield similar results. I had a hard time putting together a top 10 most anticipated list. It was easier for me to find movies I don’t want to see and that I am cautiously optimistic about. Obviously, I would love to be proven wrong, but here are my thoughts on 2019 movies!

IMDb

I’ll Stay Away – This might be a little misleading. I will probably end up seeing every movie on this list, but it will be begrudgingly.

  • The Lion King – I am of the opinion that this movie should not be made. It is technically live action, but when all of the characters will be computer generated, it may as well be considered more sophisticated animation. This trailer makes it look like they are trying to recreate the exact movie. It even has the same voice for Mufasa, which is pointless when they are trying to make a new version of the movie. This will likely be a hard pass for me.

  • Dumbo – Similar to The Lion King, I am tired of Disney remakes. This trailer doesn’t grab my attention at all. I do not want to see this.

  • Aladdin – Out of the three Disney remakes from next year, this is the one that I’m most interested in. And by most interested, I mean I have next to no interest in seeing this. But the fact that there will be a new take on Genie makes it slightly interesting.

  • Shazam! – Yes, the trailer was kind of funny, but overall, this looks bad.

  • Captain Marvel – Brie Larson was incredible in Room, but that’s about all this movie has going for it. The trailer looks incredibly dull. It will probably be just another superhero movie.

Rolling Stone

Cautiously Optimistic – I’m hoping these will be good, but I won’t be surprised if they’re not.

  • Glass – I love Unbreakable and I though Split was very good. There is just something that seems off about this trailer. Either way, I’ll still definitely be seeing it.

  • Spider-Man: Far From Home – Tom Holland is easily my least favorite Spider-Man. I did not enjoy Homecoming very much, either. But Jake Gyllenhaal alone will bring me to the theater to see this.

  • Godzilla: King of the Monsters – I still haven’t seen the first Godzilla, but the first trailer for this movie was incredible.

  • Five Feet Apart – I’m a sucker for a good romcom/romantic drama, and the trailer for this movie seems to put a good twist on the genre. I think it could quietly be a really solid date movie.

  • Detective Pikachu – I’ve never been too much into Pokémon, but the trailer for this movie looks like it's going to be innocent fun.

  • Toy Story 4 – Like most people, I thought Toy Story 3 was a perfect ending to this franchise. I don’t want to see 4, but the fact that it is a Toy Story movie will make me feel obligated to see it.

  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix – There have been lots of X-Men movies, and many of them have not been good. I thought Apocalypse was the worst one yet. But something about this trailer gives me hope.

  • Little Women – My interest in this comes solely from the fact that it stars Timothée Chalamet, Saoirse Ronan, and Emma Watson.

Slash Film

Most Anticipated – These are the movies I am wholeheartedly looking forward to and will definitely be seeing in theaters.

1. Star Wars Episode IX – I love Star Wars, plain and simple. Even though The Last Jedi wasn’t great, I still will be there opening night to see how this final trilogy concludes.

2. Avengers: Endgame – Even though I don’t usually like superhero movies these days, Avengers movies usually can do it for me. I can’t wait for this one.

3. Us – After how great Get Out was and how amazing this trailer was, Jordan Peele has made me interested in horror. I’m 100% there.

4. Serenity – All there is for this so far is a trailer, but it looks incredibly intriguing to me. McConaughey and Hathaway teaming back up is enough to have me interested.

5. Joker – I love Joaquin Phoenix and I love the Joker. I’m going in with and open mind and am prepared to be impressed.

6. It: Chapter Two – IT was one of my favorite movies of 2017. With the cast this one has, I think it can be just as great.

7. Zombieland 2 – I love the original Zombieland and with the original crew back on board, I’m ready for this one to be great.

8. Men In Black International – Chris Hemsworth and Tessa Thompson teaming back up for another action comedy makes this worth seeing alone.

9. Once Upon A Time In Hollywood – Tarantino being in charge of a story like this with this kind of cast makes it must see cinema.

10. The LEGO Movie 2: The Second Part – The original LEGO Movie was some of the most surprising fun in a long time. The sequel seems like it’s building off the first to make something else great.

What do you think of my list? What movies are you looking forward to in 2019? Let me know on Twitter, Instagram, or Facebook!

bottom of page