top of page

My 2019 Academy Award Nomination Reactions


www.out.com

Every year, the Academy Awards nominations are met with an outcry of anger and frustration.

This year was more of the same.

Overall, I didn’t think the nominations were terrible. But I did think there were some notable snubs and overachievers. This, of course, started in the Best Picture category. It was frustrating to see Black Panther actually get a nomination in this category. This was a perfectly fine movie, but that is about it. For it to be the first superhero movie to be nominated for Best Picture when films like The Dark Knight and Logan have come before it is a little bit ridiculous. In addition, Golden Globe winner for Best Picture – Drama, Bohemian Rhapsody, should not have even been nominated for that award, nor should it have been nominated for this one.

I would have loved to see a film like If Beale Street Could Talk, Eighth Grade, or even First Reformed nominated in place of those movies, which leads me to my next point: I was happy to see First Reformed nab a Best Original Screenplay nomination, but Eighth Grade should definitely have been in there instead of Vice. It’s actually kind of baffling to me how much awards recognition Vice has been getting apart from its acting, for such a mediocre movie (but I do love the Buster Scruggs nominations).

Speaking of great acting, it’s a surprise and travesty in my mind that Timothée Chalamet missed a Best Supporting Actor nomination for Beautiful Boy. He gave one of the best performances of the year in any movie, yet he was completely overlooked in favor of Sam Rockwell, who was barely in his movie long enough to warrant a nomination.

On the actresses side, Toni Colette missed out on a nomination for best actress for her role in Hereditary. I thought she gave the best female performance of the year, yet she isn’t getting recognized by any awards shows. But on the other hand, I’m happy the women of Roma were nominated! The supporting actress category is going to be almost impossible to predict and that’s awesome.

One thing I was happy with, though, was that Bradley Cooper wasn’t nominated for Best Director. I love him as an actor, but the direction in A Star Is Born was not worthy of an Oscar.

Finally, I wish Mission: Impossible – Fallout had gotten some nominations. Its visual effects were the best of the year, in my opinion and it was easily the year’s best action movie. But like horror, action movies don’t seem to get nominated the way they should.

What did you think of the Oscar nominations? What movies do you think will be awarded? Let me know on Twitter, Instagram, or Facebook!

bottom of page